Why are there shows that aren’t cartoons on Cartoon Network?

Here at Buffet o’ Blog we often write about random things that are funny, although sometimes we’ll comment on a random event that is stupid.  This is one of the latter.

There’s a television channel called Cartoon Network.  What would you expect them to show?  Cartoons, right?  For years that’s all they showed.  In recent years, the quality of the cartoons on the channel have went down (in my opinion), and perhaps that’s part of their motivation in how they’re shaking things up.  They’re now showing some TV shows and movies that are not animated.  What’s up with that?!?

There’s plenty of channels to show non-cartoons, but there’s a shortage of cartoons on TV these days, and now what was previously the best channel for watching cartoons is going away from it somewhat.  This is quite disturbing.  What’s happening to the world?

It’s not like there’s some shortage of good cartoons.  There’s a lot of them off the air that should be shown more often.  You want I should list a few?  How about Looney Toons, Popeye (the old ones), Pink Panther, Batman: The Animated Series, Superfriends (all versions), Justice League, Scooby Doo, Transformers, G.I. Joe, M.A.S.K. (does anyone else remember that show?), Freakazoid, Animaniacs, Pinky and the Brain, Ren & Stimpy, Kenshin, Samurai Jack, Dexter’s Laboratory, Powerpuff Girls, Johnny Bravo, Cartoon Planet (with Space Ghost, Brak, and Zorak — they really should bring it back since it’s apparently not ever coming out on DVD), The Tick, Futurama, etc.  Even Masters of the Universe (He-man), as cheesy as it was at times, is better than some of the modern stuff.

Okay, if they would show even just HALF of these cartoons, they could mix in some new stuff (and pick the best of it), and have a very successful channel.  So why aren’t they doing this?  Are times that bad financially that they have to pick the cream of the crap?  Or is someone tightening the budget to squeeze more profits?  Or are the people in charge so confused that they prefer the really childish, nonsensical stuff that often fills the station these days?  Either way, maybe they should put me in charge.  🙂

it feels good outside today

It feels really good outside today.  It finally feels like fall / autumn.  So I went outside this morning, enjoying the near-70 temperatures with a slight breeze.  I walked around the block, and it felt really good.  Then I decided to jog the next time around the block, but all of a sudden it got really hot and sweaty for some reason, so I went back inside.  Perhaps there’s a lesson to be learned here…

a moment of seriousness to help a fellow blogger

Here at Buffet o’ Blog, we like to look at the humorous side of things, focusing on funny, random stuff.  And so we rarely talk about serious or sad things.  But what should we do if this blog is so funny and random that it sets the bar too high for one of our friends who has his own blog, causing him depression?  It appears that this has happened.  One of our regulars, Fab, has his own blog now : Simply Fab, yet he hasn’t written a new post in over a month.

His lack of writing is obviously because he’s jealous of this site and feels inadequate to make his blog even half as cool.  So we’d like to take a moment to encourage him and to let him know that it’s not good to compare himself against others.  Fab, you should write what’s in your heart, even if it doesn’t measure up to the (ridiculously high) standard we set here at Buffet o’ Blog.  There’s still an audience for you.  There are people for whom our randomness is just too much, so they need some other alternative.  And that’s where you come in.  You can target this niche group, and provide blogging entertainment for them.  Your blog doesn’t have to remain obscure forever.  (But you will have to provide content on a somewhat regular basis.)

I hope this helps Brother Fab.  And I apologize for stepping away from humor for a moment.  I felt it was necessary, because our humor was actually causing undue grief and feelings of insecurity for one of our readers, and that’s not right.  Now we can return you to your regularly scheduled randomness, since Brother Fab now knows why he’s been blogstipated (and knowing is half the battle!).

people who eat massive amounts of food at one sitting

I saw a news article where someone called “Eater X” ate 12 pounds of burritos in 12 minutes.  After his victory, he said, “I love Mexican food.”  Obviously!  He was competing for $3,000 in prize money.  He said he prepared for the contest by eating candy the previous day.

That news led me to the Major League Eating website, where I saw a profile for someone who is amazing when it comes to eating, who demolished the hot dog eating record.

Many consider Takeru Kobayashi the most dominant living athlete.  His feat on July 4th, 2001, of downing 50 hot dogs and buns in 12 minutes doubled the previous record and left entire continents agape with disbelief.  Since that fateful day, his gurgitating prowess has gone almost uncontested and his feats have left people shaking their heads.  In a televised Japanese contest known as “Weight Crash”, Kobayashi once gained a staggering 27 pounds in 45 minutes.

I wouldn’t consider him the most dominant living athlete — especially after eating like that! — but I must admit that is impressive.  I’ve been at a party where some friends had a hot dog eating contest, and I think the winner got to about 8.  (I didn’t participate; if only it had been back in my high school days when I still had a metabolism…)

Imagine how big 50 hot dogs with buns would be in a pile — it would be several feet high!  Then imagine someone eating all those!  That is a LOT of bread to consume at once.  I don’t see how someone can do that… it’s like eating is his super power…