hypnosis may soothe irritable bowel

Check out what is in an article at WebMD :

In the study, published in the Journal of Clinical Nursing, 20 men and 55 women received between five and seven half-hour hypnotherapy sessions over a three-month period. During the sessions, each patient was instructed to place his or her hands on the site of maximum abdominal discomfort and induce feelings of warmth and comfort in that region.

The therapist also told patients to imagine their gut as a river that changes how it flows. Constipated patients were told to envision the river as motionless and then freely flowing. Patients with diarrhea were told to imagine the river flowing more slowly.

Afterwards, patients reported a 5% reduction in abdominal pain and a 4% reduction in abdominal bloating.

Uhh…  where do I start?  First off, that's just crazy.  That reminds me of an episode of Beavis & Butt-head, where Beavis was on the toilet and trying to use manners, saying things like : "Please come out of my butt."

Second, what's up with only a 4% to 5% reduction?  That could just happen on its own, that 5% of the people have less pain after a few hours.  And would you want to sit through 5 to 7.5 hours of hypnotherapy for just a 5% chance of feeling better?  Why is this even on the site?

flaming toilet paper

This is a news story that you just don't hear too often…

Oh, the absorbent softness of it all!

Flaming toilet paper spill clogs New York highway, backs up traffic for miles

BATAVIA, N.Y. – Please don't squeeze the Charmin. And don't dump it on the highway, either.

Crews on the New York State Thruway spent hours cleaning up the mess caused when a truck full of toilet paper caught fire Monday.

Roll after roll of the bathroom tissue spilled onto the highway, backing up traffic for miles. That, in turn, led to a separate accident involving two trucks. Police say no one was seriously hurt. 

Definitely random. I wish the website would've had a picture…

in the news : man arrested for stupidity

Well, not quite, but pretty close :

TOKYO (Reuters) – A would-be Japanese bank robber asked staff how he should carry out the crime before meekly obeying a request to leave and then accidentally stabbing himself in the leg with a knife he was carrying.

The 58-year-old unemployed man went into a branch of the Saitama Resona Bank in the town of Kumagaya, north of Tokyo, on Wednesday, intending to rob it, a police spokesman said.

According to local media reports the man first asked a bank teller, "Any idea how you rob a bank?" The teller alerted another member of staff, who asked the man to leave.

"He left quietly when asked to," the police spokesman said.

However, the staff member escorting the man out of the bank noticed the knife sticking out of his pocket and a bloodstain on his trousers.

Police arrested the man for illegal possession of a weapon.

"He didn't brandish the knife at anyone … but he injured himself in the leg," the police spokesman said.

I just don't understand… how can someone be this stupid? I reckon criminals typically aren't the smartest people (or choose not to be), but this is ludicrous.

the Hokey-Pokey

Any of y'all remember the "Hokey-Pokey"?

With all the sadness and trauma going on in the world at the moment, it is worth reflecting on the death of a very important person, which almost went unnoticed last week.  Larry LaPrise, the man that wrote "The Hokey Pokey" died peacefully at the age of 93.

The most traumatic part for his family was getting him into the coffin.  They put his left leg in.  And then the trouble started.

(Shut up.  You know it's funny.)