pea-flavored soda

Jones Soda Co. is at it again — now they’re offering green pea-flavored soda.  This is the same company that offers a “holiday pack” of bottled drinks like turkey & gravy, dinner roll, sweet potato, and antacid.  (Uhh, antacid flavor?!?  Why?!?)  And there’s fish taco and salmon flavors, too, as well as broccoli casserole, corn on the cob, and Brussel sprout.

What is highly ironic about this whole venture is that their chief executive says,

“Why people buy it is beyond me.  I can’t drink a bottle of this stuff.”

I don’t know why people buy it, either…  Yet it usually sells out.

Has anyone out there tried any of these drinks?  Are any of them good?

an unknown animal

In Johnson County in Arkansas, residents have spotted an unknown animal.  Some say it’s a cross between a wild dog and a coyote, while some suspect it’s a Chupacabra, from a Hispanic urban legend.  No one knows.  The weird part is that they’ve shot one, so they have it in custody, and the Game and Fish Commission say it’s a dog with a severe case of mange.  But it doesn’t look like a dog.  What do you think?  (There’s a picture at the link.)

If it’s an alien, I’m not scared…

man injured after lighting a firecracker in his butt

This really happened, in Britain recently.  I’m not sure why anyone would want to attempt this.  Well, I mean, I suppose it would be funny, but you’d think at some point prior to doing it his common sense would kick in and say, “Y’know, this is probably not a good idea.”  You have to expect it to hurt…

The report says he suffered “burns and other unspecified internal injuries”.  I’m kinda glad they left it “unspecified”.  He’s gonna be in pain for a while.  And he’s gonna be reminded of this every few hours — every time he has to take a dump or even rip a fart.  I think it’s safe to say he probably learned an important lesson from this, but it’s a painful lesson…

Ohio man prefers prison to work

In the news…  Some 62-year-old guy from Ohio couldn’t get a job that paid more than minimum wage, and he couldn’t draw Social Security for three more years, so he decided to wait in prison.  I guess he figured he’d have a better lifestyle there.  So he went to a bank, demanded some cash, then handed it to a security guard and waited on the cops to show up.  Isn’t that crazy?  So for stealing $80 for just a minute, he gets three years in prison (because that’s what he was asking for).  I’ve never been to prison, so I don’t know how luxurious it is, but I’m thinking I’d rather stay at home even if I’m poor and eating Ramen Noodles and Macaroni & Cheese and sandwiches.  (I had to live that way during college.)  I could find a way to make enough money to get by…

I understand being lazy and not wanting to work…  But having to work some and then having some free time has to be better than being in prison, right?